Hyder Named The WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race in Watkins Glen

Hyder named the WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race in Watkins Glen

ROSWELL, Ga. (August 12, 2008) David Hyder, crew chief of the No. 21 Little Debbie Ford driven by Marcos Ambrose, has been named the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief of the Race following Sunday’s Centurion Boats at the Glen at Watkins Glen International.

After starting from the 43rd position as a result of qualifying being rained out on Friday, Ambrose remained one of the fastest cars on track all day long. Pit strategy and fuel mileage were key determinants of a strong finish for the Hyder-led team.

Hyder called his driver to pit road for the last time on lap 57 and instructed his crew to tighten the wheels and top off on fuel after Ambrose reported a vibration due to a loose lug nut. The crew performed a quick and successful stop, shooting Ambrose out of the pits in the sixth position.

“You have to have the right strategy when you come from the back,” said Ambrose. “And David did a great job, stopping us just at the right time so we could make it home on the gas.” The No. 21 team’s 3rd place finish is the first top five for the Wood Brothers in more than three years. Congratulations to Hyder and his team for a great performance and overall finish!

Hyder has been with Wood Brothers Racing and the No. 21 Little Debbie Team since the week of Indianapolis in July. His crew position is not limited to Ambrose; he will also be working with the other drivers in the No. 21 car, Bill Elliot and Jon Wood.

The 2008 WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge is a season-long contest that will determine the best crew chiefs in the NASCAR Sprint Cup garage. Following each race, a panel will vote to determine which crew chief demonstrated the most outstanding strategy and leadership during the race. It isn’t necessarily the crew chief that goes to Victory Lane, but the crew chief that makes the biggest difference for his team.

Representatives from WYPALL Wipers, together with FOX/SPEED television analyst Jeff Hammond, and three of NASCAR’s top crew chiefs who represent WYPALL, including Todd Berrier of Richard Childress Racing’s No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil Chevy team, Bob Osborne of Roush Fenway Racing’s No. 99 Office Depot Ford team, and Kenny Francis of Gillett Evernham Motorsports’ No. 9 Budweiser Dodge team, make up the panel of judges.

In addition to the $1,000 check, the winning crew chief will receive signage to announce the win on their pit box the following week. The crew chief with the most weekly top wins will be honored as the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief of the Year and will be presented a $20,000 check at the season finale in Homestead, Fla.

“The WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge spotlights the crew chief’s efforts to get his team in Victory Lane,” said Tom Merrill, Category Manager for WYPALL Wipers. “WYPALL Wipers and crew chiefs are a natural fit. Crew chiefs only want to use reliable products on their cars and engines. That’s why they choose WYPALL Wipers. Our products are used to wipe up the toughest, most stubborn messes, and we want to focus on the men who put WYPALL Wipers to use each week. That’s why we continue to show our appreciation to the crew chiefs.”

About WYPALL* Wipers
WYPALL is a brand of Kimberly-Clark Professional. Since 2004, WYPALL Wipers has been affiliated with some of racing’s top teams. Offering heavy-duty to versatile light-duty towels, WYPALL Wipers provides race teams with a number of products providing strength and durability. Defeating the toughest of challenges, from absorbing tough grease and oil to wiping down windshields without leaving residue behind, WYPALL Wipers continue to offer performance and versatility.

The WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge will continue throughout the remainder of the 2008 season and spotlight the men behind the machines. For more information, log onto www.wypall.com.

Contact Info
Kellyn Clark
(980) 297-7451